

Meeting: COUNCIL Date: 25 MAY 2011 Agenda Item:

5

BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2011

Author – Jackie Cansick ext. 2216 Contributors – Jacqui Hubbard ext. 2174 Lead Officer – Jackie Cansick ext. 2216 Contact Officer – Jacqui Hubbard ext. 2174

1. PURPOSE

To advise Council of the results of the Borough Council Elections in Bandley Hill, Bedwell, Chells, Longmeadow, Manor, Martins Wood, Old Town, Pin Green, Roebuck, Shephall, St. Nicholas, Symonds Green and Woodfield held on 5 May 2011 together with the percentage turnouts.

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

That the results of the Borough Council Elections 2011 be noted.

3. BACKGROUND

At the local Elections on 5 May 2011 all wards in Stevenage had contested elections. Over 22,000 postal votes were sent out, with 33 Polling Stations opened.

The results of the Borough Council Elections were as follows (percentage turnouts are shown in brackets under Ward name and the elected candidate is shown in bold):

gela Margaret Denness (UKIP)	203
aron Hearn (Conservative)	642
kie Hollywell (Labour and Co-operative)	919
rk Pickersgill (Trade Unionists and Socialists ainst Cuts)	61
bara Segadelli (Liberal Democrats)	118
	aron Hearn (Conservative) kie Hollywell (Labour and Co-operative) rk Pickersgill (Trade Unionists and Socialists ainst Cuts)

Bedwell	Ian John Cropton (Green)	114
(39.75%)	Steve Glennon (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)	53
	Liz Harrington (Labour & Co-operative)	1107
	Sean Ulick Howlett (UKIP)	258
	Ellin Joseph (Conservative)	421
Chells	Howard John Burrell (Labour & Co-operative)	986
(41.88%)	Tim Neale (Liberal Democrats)	299
	Rachalle Sainsbury (UKIP)	254
	Matthew Paul Wyatt (Conservative)	517
Longmeadow	Ralph Christopher Baskerville (Liberal Democrats)	195
(44.47%)	Michelle Calcutt (Conservative)	723
	Monika Elizabeth Cherney-Craw (Labour & Co-operative)	835
	Vicky Gabriel (UKIP)	177
	Helen Dorothy Kerr (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)	62
Manor	Robin Gareth Parker (Liberal Democrats)	982
(47.63%)	Julie Seddon (UKIP)	168
	Joseph Sherry (Labour & Co-operative)	616
	Susan Smith (Conservative)	610
Martins Wood	Kevin Alan Neil Aylward (Liberal Democrats)	131
(41.81%)	Pat Jones (UKIP)	189
	Sarah Jane Walker (Labour & Co-operative)	929
	Bill Whelan (Conservative)	690

Old Town	Catherine Ann Bibby (Conservative)	946
(43.12%)	Bernard John Maddox (UKIP)	197
	Matthew Benjamin Robert Snell (Liberal Democrats)	196
	Hugh Tessier (Labour & Co-operative)	1219
Pin Green	Scott Laurence Copsey (Liberal Democrats)	126
(11 229/)	Kevin Shaun Flavell (UKIP)	198
(41.23%)	Ted Jones (Conservative)	595
	Jeannette Audrey Thomas (Labour & Co-operative)	949
Roebuck	Bryan David Clare (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)	61
(40.08%)	John Gardner (Labour & Co-operative)	915
	Harvey William Page (Conservative)	618
	Roy Worden (UKIP)	274
St. Nicholas	Gillian Anne Mould (Conservative)	501
(40.77%)	Ken Neal (UKIP)	178
	Ralph Raynor (Labour & Co-operative)	959
	Heather Mary Snell (Liberal Democrats)	181
Shephall	Nicholas Trevelyan Baskerville (Liberal Democrats)	149
(37.02%)	Barbara Jane Clare (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)	75
	Maureen Dilley (UKIP)	155
	Anita Speight (Conservative)	366
	Ann Webb (Labour & Co-operative)	887
L	1	1

Symonds Green	Clive Hearmon (Liberal Democrats)	115
(43.11%)	David Kissane (Labour & Co-operative)	1120
	Carol Knowles (UKIP)	145
	Paul Mould (Conservative)	539
Woodfield	Graham Clark (Conservative)	843
Woodfield (42.49%)	Graham Clark (Conservative) Katherine Jane Lloyd-Manning (Liberal Democrats)	843 157

The total percentage turnout was 41.83%

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

• Files – Borough Council Elections 2011

APPENDICES

• None.