ANNUAL COUNCIL - 26 MAY 2010

Nominations received for Positions/Appointments for 2010/11

Agenda Item

9.

3. Appointment of Mayor

Councillor M Downing

4. Appointment of Deputy Mayor

Councillor C Latif

7. Appointment of Leader of the Council

Councillor S Taylor CC

8. Appointment of Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor J Gardner

Leader and Deputy Leader of the Opposition

To Note: Leader Councillor G Clark

Deputy Leader Councillor M Notley

10. <u>Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the Political Groups on the Council</u>

To Note: Labour Leader Councillor S Taylor CC

Deputy Leader Councillor J Gardner

Conservative Leader Councillor G Clark

Deputy Leader Councillor M Notley

Liberal Democrats Leader Councillor R Parker CC

Deputy Leader Councillor G Snell

11. <u>Appointment of the Executive of the Council and Allocation of Portfolio</u> <u>Responsibilities</u>

Leader of the Council* - Councillor S Taylor CC

Deputy Leader of the Council - Councillor J Gardner - Environment

and Regeneration

Councillor S Batson MBE DL - Community, Health and Older People

Councillor H Burrell - Children and Young People, Culture, Sport and Leisure

Councillor R Henry - Safer and Stronger Communities

Councillor Mrs J Lloyd - Resources

Councillor R Raynor - Economy, Enterprise and Transport

Councillor P Webb - Housing

12. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES/PANELS OF THE COUNCIL

12(a) Scrutiny Overview Committee

13 Members:

Councillors - D Cullen (Chair)

G Clark (Vice Chair) (Topic Group Chair)M Cherney-Craw (Topic Group Chair)

L Harrington (Topic Group Chair)

- R Clark

- M Hurst CC

- D Kissane

- L Martin-Haugh

- R Parker CC

- S Speller

- L Strange

V Warwick

- M Yarnold-Forrester

12(b) Planning & Development Committee

13 Members:

Councillors - S Speller (Chair)

M Patston (Vice-Chair)

P Bibby CC

- L Chester

D Clark

J Fraser CC

^{*} The Leader of the Council has responsibility for Town Twinning, Modernisation of Local Government – new political structures and the Constitution, Media and Communications, Public Consultations, Partnerships, Members' Services including the Modern Member Programme and the Civic Suite.

- L Harrington
- B Jackson
- J Lloyd CC
- J Pickersgill
- G Snell
- L Strange
- B Underwood

12(c) <u>Licensing Committee</u>

13 Members:

Councillors

- D Kissane (Chair)
- C Latif (Vice-Chair)
- R Clark
- L Harrington
- M Hearn
- C Hurst
- L Martin-Haugh
- J Mead
- M Notley
- M Patston
- J Pickersgill
- P Stuart
- B Underwood

12 (d) General Purposes Committee

13 Members:

Councillors

- D Kissane (Chair)
- C Latif (Vice-Chair)
- R Clark
- L Harrington
- M Hearn
- C Hurst
- L Martin-Haugh
- J Mead
- M Notley
- M Patston
- J Pickersgill
- P Stuart
- B Underwood

12(e) Appointments Committee

6 Members:

Councillors -

- S Taylor CC (Chair)
- J Gardner
- G Clark
- R Parker CC
- 2 Majority Group Members (to be advised when meeting arranged)

12(f) Standards Committee

9 Members: (6 Councillors, 3 Independent non-elected Members)

Membership - Allen Holland – Independent, non-elected Member (Chair)

- Ananda Hale - Independent, non-elected Member

- Councillor D Kissane

- Councillor Mrs J LLoyd

- Councillor M Notley

- Councillor G Snell

- Councillor L Strange

- Councillor B Underwood

- 1 Independent, non-elected Member (see item 15 on

agenda)

12(g) Audit Committee

7 Members: (6 Councillors, 1 Independent co-opted Member)

Membership - Councillor L Chester (Chair)

Councillor P Bibby CC

- Councillor R Clark

Councillor D CullenCouncillor J Gardner

- Councillor R Parker CC

- B Mitchell - Independent, non-elected Member,

12(h) Statement of Accounts Committee

6 Members

Councillors - Mrs J Lloyd (Chairman)

- G Clark

- R Henry

- J Hollywell

- J Mead

- R Raynor

12(i) Shephall, Bandley Hill and Poplars Action Team

6 Members:

Councillors - J Hollywell (Chair)

J Pickersgill (Vice-Chair)

R Clark

- Mrs J Lloyd

L Strange

- A Webb

12(j) Bedwell and Pin Green Action Team

6 Members:

Councillors - B Underwood (Chair)

- L Harrington (Vice-Chair)

D CullenB JacksonMortin House

- L Martin-Haugh

- S Speller

12(k) Chells and Manor Action Team

6 Members:

Councillors - P Stuart (Chair)

R Parker CC (Vice-Chair)

H BurrellJ MeadG SnellV Warwick

12(I) Broadwater Action Team

6 Members:

Councillors - J Lloyd CC (Chair)

M Cherney-Craw (Vice Chair)

- S Batson MBE DL

J GardnerC HurstM Hurst CC

12(m) St Nicholas and Martins Wood Action Team

6 Members:

Councillors - C Latif (Chair)

M Patston (Vice Chair)

D ClarkM HearnR HenryR Raynor

12(n) Old Town, Symonds Green and Woodfield Action Team

9 Members:

Councillors - M Notley (Chair)

- D Kissane (Vice-Chair)

P Bibby CCL Chester

- G Clark
- M Downing
- J Fraser CC
- S Taylor CC
- M Yarnold-Forrester

13. Appointment of Joint Panel with Hertfordshire County Council

Stevenage/HCC Highways Joint Member Panel

SBC - M Cherney-Craw

Councillors - C Latif

- L Strange

B Underwood

V Warwick (SBC Lead Member)

M Yarnold-Forrester

HCC - P Bibby Councillors - J Fraser

M HurstJ LloydR ParkerS Taylor