

Meeting: COUNCIL Agenda Item:

Date: 26 MAY 2010

BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2010

Author – Guy Moody ext. 2203 Contributors – Jacqui Hubbard ext. 2174 Lead Officer – Jackie Cansick ext. 2216 Contact Officer – Jacqui Hubbard ext. 2174

1. PURPOSE

To advise Council of the results of the Borough Council Elections in Bandley Hill, Bedwell, Chells, Longmeadow, Manor, Martins Wood, Old Town, Pin Green, Roebuck, Shephall, St. Nicholas, Symonds Green and Woodfield held on 6 May 2010 together with the percentage turnouts.

2. RECOMMENDATIONS

That the results of the Borough Council Elections 2010 be noted.

3. BACKGROUND

At the local Elections on 6 May 2010 all wards in Stevenage had contested elections. Over 22,000 postal votes were sent out, with 33 Polling Stations opened.

The results of the Borough Council Elections were as follows (percentage turnouts are shown in brackets under Ward name and the elected candidate is shown in bold):

WARD	CANDIDATE	NO. OF VOTES RECORDED
Bandley Hill	Angela Margaret Denness (UKIP)	275
(61.5%)	Roger Frederick Gill (Conservative)	1055
	Joan Elizabeth Lloyd (Labour)	1149
	Barbara Segadelli (Liberal Democrat)	497
Bedwell	Maureen Dilley (UKIP)	421
(60.0%)	Leonard Albert Lambert (Liberal Democrat)	522

	Christine Saint Leitner (Conservative)	744
	Brian George Underwood (Labour)	1114
Chells	Gareth Morgan Rhys Steiner (Liberal Democrat)	937
(65.2%)	Pamela Stuart (Labour)	1226
	Matthew Paul Wyatt (Conservative)	973
Longmeadow	Ralph Christopher Baskerville (Liberal Democrat)	561
(67.2%)	Christine Brenda Hurst (Conservative)	1086
	Suzanne Marie Myson (Labour)	996
	Roy Worden (UKIP)	254
Manor	John Philip Mead (Liberal Democrat)	1427
(71.0%)	Mark Simon Rowe (UKIP)	210
	Joseph John Sherry (Labour)	711
	Susan Smith (Conservative)	1144
Martins Wood	Kevin Alan Neil Aylward (Liberal Democrat)	535
(62.3%)	John Robert Cooper (English Democrat)	133
	Michael Steven Hearn (Conservative)	1044
	Pat Jones (UKIP)	239
	Jeanette Audrey Thomas (Labour)	921
Old Town	Pamela Elizabeth Josephine Gallagher (Labour)	1349
(66.1%)	Bernard John Maddox (UKIP)	244
	Matthew Benjamin Robert Snell (Liberal Democrat)	662
	Marilyn Yarnold – Forrester (Conservative)	1421
Pin Green	Scott Laurence Copsey (Liberal Democrat)	480
(63.1%)	Michael Andrew Green (British National Party)	136
	Lin Martin – Haugh (Labour)	1163
	David Mc Donagh (UKIP)	181
	Philip Roethenbaugh (Conservative)	881

Roebuck	Denise Carlyle Baskerville (Liberal Democrat)	546
(62.0%)	Sherma Amantha Batson (Labour)	1055
	Victoria Gabriel (UKIP)	293
	Harvey William Page (Conservative)	943
Shephall	Nicholas Trevelyan Baskerville (Liberal Democrat)	465
(58.0%)	Robert Alfred Clark (Labour)	1035
	Bob Layson (UKIP)	285
	Anita Speight (Conservative)	707
St. Nicholas	Carol Elizabeth Knowles	121
(61.2%)	Carol Latif (Labour)	1098
	Gillian Anne Mould (Conservative)	855
	Heather Mary Snell (Liberal Democrat)	581
Symonds Green	Clive Hearmon (Liberal Democrat)	537
(64.5%)	Paul Mould (Conservative)	1082
	Sharon Jane Taylor (Labour)	1191
Woodfield	Phil Bibby (Conservative)	1430
(67.2%)	Katherine Jane Lloyd-Manning (Liberal Democrat)	617
	Christopher Saunders (Labour)	662

The total percentage turnout was 63.8%

4. BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS

• Files – Borough Council Elections 2010.

5. APPENDICES

• None.