

## Part I Release to Press

**EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF** Meeting:

Agenda Item:

COUNCIL

Portfolio Area:

Modernisation of Local Government political structures and the Constitution

Date: 18 June 2009

## RESULTS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY AND HERTFORDSHIRE **COUNTY COUNCIL ELECTIONS 2009**

(Constitutional Services)

### **NON-KEY DECISION**

Author - Jackie Cansick Ext No. 2216 Lead Officer - Nick Parry Ext No. 2225 Contact Officer - Jacqui Edwards Ext No. 2174

#### 1 **PURPOSE**

To formally report the results of the European Parliamentary and Hertfordshire County Council (HCC) Elections held on 4 June 2009.

#### RECOMMENDATIONS 2

That the report be noted.

#### 3 **BACKGROUND**

- 3.1 The European Parliamentary Elections and the Elections to the Hertfordshire County Council were held on 4 June 2009.
- 3.2 For the European Parliamentary Elections Stevenage is part of the Eastern Region of the UK which elects seven MEPs under a form of closed list proportional representation which uses a mathematical formula, known as d'Hondt. The Stevenage results are combined with the results from all over the Eastern Region and the formula applied
- 3.3 There are six County Council Divisions in Stevenage, each electing one Councillor to serve a four year term. HCC Councillors are elected on a first past the post system.

#### 4 **EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY ELECTION RESULTS**

4.1 The votes cast in the Stevenage area was as follows -

PARTY NAME OR INDIVIDUAL CANDIDATE	TOTAL VOTES
Animals Count	153
British National Party (BNP)	1393
Christian Party	293
Conservative Party	5290
English Democrats Party	819
Jury Team	80
Liberal Democrats	2450
No2EU: Yes to Democracy	287
Pro Democracy : Libertas.EU	89
Socialist Labour Party	292
The Green Party	1386
The Labour Party	4781
United Kingdom First	398
United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP)	4026
Peter Rigby	166

- 4.2 The turnout was 37.34%.
- 4.3 The following individuals were elected for the East of England -

John Agnew (UKIP)

David Campbell Bannerman (UKIP)

Andrew Duff (Liberal Democrats)

Vicky Ford (Conservative)

Richard Howitt (Labour)

Robert Sturdy (Conservative)

Geoffrey Van Orden (Conservative)

#### 5 **HCC RESULTS**

**BEDWELL -** 36.3% Turnout

CANDIDATE	PARTY	NO. VOTES
Leslie CLARK	Conservative	763

Thomas GODFREY	BNP	243
Gareth STEINER	Liberal Democrats	342

Sharon TAYLOR Labour 1256 (ELECTED)

Terence TOMPKINS UKIP 490 Ashley WALKER Green 181

## **BROADWATER** - 37.49% Turnout

CANDIDATE	PARTY	NO. VOTES
Ralph BASKERVILLE	Liberal Democrats	422
Sherma BATSON	Labour	948
Matthew HURST	Conservative	1066 (ELECTED)
Arthur MEDLEY	BNP	196
Heidi MOLLART-GRIFFIN	Green	183
Roy WORDEN	UKIP	507

### CHELLS - 39.85% Turnout

CANDIDATE	PARTY	NO. VOTES
Ann DE BOCK	Green	142
Bhavna JOSHI	Labour	781
Robin PARKER	<b>Liberal Democrats</b>	1444 (ELECTED)
Cheryl PEERS	BNP	233
Julie SEDDON	UKIP	411
Matthew WYATT	Conservative	859

### **OLD STEVENAGE** - 40.96% Turnout

CANDIDATE	PARTY	NO. VOTES
Michael DOWNING	Labour	1501
James FRASER	Conservative	1708 (ELECTED)
Clive HEARMON	Liberal Democrats	484
Stuart MADGIN	Green	298
Reginald NORGAN	BNP	219
Rik SEDDON	UKIP	515

**ST. NICHOLAS -** 35.48 %

CANDIDATE PARTY NO. VOTES

William BERRINGTON	Green	208
Philip BIBBY	Conservative	1173 (ELECTED)
John COOPER	<b>English Democrats</b>	299
David CULLEN	Labour	1114
Marion MASON	UKIP	462
Mark RALPH	BNP	213
Graham SNELL	Liberal Democrats	441

# SHEPHALL -34.37% Turnout

CANDIDATE	PARTY	NO. VOTES
Nicholas BASKERVILLE	Liberal Democrats	380
Carl COOPER	<b>English Democrats</b>	147
William HOYES	Green	193
Christine HURST	Conservative	784
Bob LAYSON	UKIP	400
John LLOYD	Labour	1026 (ELECTED)
Terrence SAVAGE	BNP	197

### **BACKGROUND PAPERS**

- Electoral Commission Guidance
- Declaration Sheets

### **APPENDICES**

None