ANNUAL COUNCIL - 20 MAY 2009

Nominations received for Positions/Appointments for 2009/10

Agenda Item

4. Appointment of Mayor

Councillor S Myson

5. Appointment of Deputy Mayor

Councillor John Lloyd CC

6. Appointment of Mayor Designate

Councillor M Downing CC

8. Appointment of Leader of the Council

Councillor S Taylor CC

9. Appointment of Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor J Gardner

10. Leader and Deputy Leader of the Opposition

To Note: Leader Councillor G Clark Deputy Leader Councillor M Notley

11. Leaders and Deputy Leaders of the Political Groups on the Council

To Note:	Labour	Leader Deputy Leader	Councillor S Taylor CC Councillor J Gardner
	Conservative	Leader Deputy Leader	Councillor G Clark Councillor M Notley
	Liberal Democrats		Councillor R Parker CC Councillor G Snell

12. <u>Appointment of the Executive of the Council and Allocation of Portfolio</u> <u>Responsibilities</u>

Leader of the Council* Deputy Leader of the Council	-	Councillor S Taylor CC Councillor J Gardner (Environment and Regeneration)
Councillor H Burrell	-	Children and Young People, Culture, Sport and Leisure
Councillor M Downing CC Councillor R Henry Councillor Mrs Joan Lloyd Councillor S Speller Councillor A Webb Councillor G Clark	- - -	Community, Health and Older People Safer and Stronger Communities Resources Economy, Enterprise and Transport Housing

* The Leader of the Council has responsibility for Town Twinning, Modernisation of Local Government – new political structures and the Constitution, Media and Communications, Public Consultations, Partnerships, Members' Services including the Modern Member Programme and the Civic Suite.

13. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES/PANELS OF THE COUNCIL

13(a) <u>Scrutiny Overview Committee</u>

12 Members:

- Councillors D Cullen CC (Chair)
 - P Gallagher (Vice Chair) (Topic Group Chair)
 - M Cherney-Craw (Topic Group Chair)
 - L Chester
 - R Clark (Topic Group Chair)
 - E Harrington (Topic Group Chair)
 - M Hurst
 - D Kissane
 - L Martin-Haugh
 - R Parker CC
 - J Thomas
 - V Warwick

13(b) Planning & Development Committee

13 Members:

Councillors -

- J Thomas (Chair)
- L Chester (Vice-Chair)
- S Batson MBE DL CC
- M Cherney-Craw
- D Clark
- E Harrington
- J Hollywell
- John Lloyd CC
- M Patston
- R Raynor
- G Snell
- L Strange
- B Underwood

13(c) Licensing Committee

13 Members:

- Councillors
 - D Kissane (Chair)
 - C Latif (Vice-Chair)
 - M Cherney-Craw
 - P Gallagher
 - L Knight
 - John Lloyd CC
 - L Martin-Haugh
 - M Notley
 - J Pickersgill
 - M Patston
 - L Strange
 - P Stuart
 - B Underwood

13(d) General Purposes Committee

13 Members:

Councillors

- D Kissane (Chair)
 - C Latif (Vice-Chair)
 - M Cherney-Craw
 - P Gallagher
 - L Knight
 - John Lloyd CC
 - L Martin-Haugh
 - M Notley
 - J Pickersgill
 - M Patston
 - L Strange
 - P Stuart
 - B Underwood

13(e) <u>Appointments Committee</u>

6 Members:5 Majority Group1 Opposition

Detailed Membership to be determined when a meeting is convened.

13(f) Standards Committee

9 Members:

Membership -

- Stewart Gillies (Chair) Independent, non-elected Member
 Councillor D Kissane
- Councillor Mrs Joan Lloyd
- Councillor M Notley
- Councillor G Snell
- Councillor L Strange
- Councillor B Underwood
- Ananda Hale Independent, non-elected Member
- Allen Holland Independent, non-elected Member

13(g) Audit Committee

6 Members

Membership -

- Councillor R Raynor (Chair)
- Councillor J Gardner (Vice-Chair)
- Councillor R Clark
- Councillor J Hollywell
- Councillor M Notley
- Brian Mitchell Independent, non-elected Member

13 (h) Statement of Accounts Committee

6 Members

- Councillors Mrs Joan Lloyd (Chair)
 - G Clark
 - L Martin-Haugh
 - R Parker CC
 - M Patston
 - L Strange

13(i) Shephall, Bandley Hill and Poplars Action Team**

6 Members: Councillors

- J Hollywell (Chair)

- J Pickersgill (Vice-Chair)
- R Clark
- Mrs Joan Lloyd
- L Strange
- A Webb

13(j) <u>Bedwell and Pin Green Action Team</u>

6 Members: Councillors

- B Underwood (Chair)
 - E Harrington (Vice-Chair)
 - D Cullen CC
 - B Jackson
 - L Martin-Haugh
 - S Speller

13(k) Chells and Manor Action Team

6 Members:

- Councillors P Stuart (Chair)
 - V Warwick (Vice-Chair)
 - H Burrell
 - L Knight
 - R Parker CC
 - G Snell

13(I) Broadwater Action Team**

6 Members:

Councillors - S

- S Batson MBE DL CC (Chair)
 - M Cherney-Craw (Vice-Chair)
 - J Gardner
 - M Hurst
 - John Lloyd CC
 - S Myson

13(m) St Nicholas and Martins Wood Action Team**

6 Members: Councillors

- C Latif (Chair)

- R Raynor (Vice-Chair)
 - D Clark
 - R Henry
 - M Patston
 - J Thomas

13(n) Old Town, Symonds Green and Woodfield Action Team

9 Members: Councillors

- D Kissane (Chair)

- P Gallagher (Vice-Chair)
- L Chester
- G Clark
- M Downing CC
- J Fraser
- M Mason
- M Notley
- S Taylor CC

** Names of Action Teams revised from those on the published Agenda

14 Appointment of Joint Panel with Hertfordshire County Council

Stevenage/HCC Highways Joint Member Panel

SBC	-	M Cherney-Craw (SBC Lead Member)
Councillors	-	J Fraser
	-	C Latif
	-	L Strange
	-	B Underwood
	-	V Warwick
HCC	-	M Downing CC (HCC Lead Member)
Councillors	-	S Batson MBE DL CC
		S DAISON MIDE DE CO
	-	D Cullen CC
	-	
	- - -	D Cullen CC
	- - -	D Cullen CC John Lloyd CC

(May be subject to change at County Council Elections – 4 June 2009)

Chair and Vice-Chair to be appointed at the first meeting of the Panel, the Chair to come from the SBC representation.